February 19, 2009

Farmers in 11 Missouri Counties Eligible for Ag Emergency Loan Assistance

(JEFFERSON CITY, MO) – This week, the Missouri Department of Agriculture was notified of a Presidential disaster declaration by the U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) for 11 Missouri counties. This declaration designates them as natural disasters and eligible for physical and/or production loss loan assistance. The counties included in the declaration are Barry, Butler, Dunklin, Howell, McDonald, Oregon, Ozark, Pemiscot, Ripley, Stone and Taney.

"We are dedicated to providing Missouri farmers with information they need to help them recover from losses from natural disasters," said Dr. Jon Hagler, director of the Department of Agriculture. "The agriculture industry is at a crossroads and there is definite opportunity for growth and expansion of operation in our state. Gov. Nixon is dedicated to seeing farm families thrive – even in these uncertain economic times. We look forward to working with folks in every corner of our state to help move agriculture forward."

Notification of the loan assistance came from USDA’s Farm Service Agency’s (FSA) State Executive Director Tim Kelley. His letter informed the state Department of Agriculture that FSA emergency loan assistance was now available due the severe winter storm which occurred Jan. 26, 2009 and continuing. This advisement was part of the Presidential disaster designation M1819 in Arkansas.

For more information, contact your local FSA office or call the Missouri State FSA office at (573) 876-0980.