July 19, 2012

Dept. of Agriculture to Name Farmers' Market Champions for 2012

Volunteers from Springfield, Mo. to be recognized Saturday during annual Corn Feed Event

The Missouri Department of Agriculture will honor a group of volunteers from the Greater Springfield Farmers' Market as 2012 Champions of the Year for their work to connect Greene County residents in need with fresh produce from the farmers' market. Missouri's Director of Agriculture, Dr. Jon Hagler, will present the award during Saturday's annual Corn Feed celebration.

The Champion of the Year award recognizes individuals who have made outstanding contributions to Missouri's farmers' markets. The award is given annually by AgriMissouri and the Missouri Farmers' Market Association.

Director of Agriculture Dr. Jon Hagler, Brad Gray and Steve Madewell of the Greater Springfield Farmers' Market, Wanda McLane and other volunteers from Harvest on Wheels

Sat., July 21, 2012
9:30 a.m.

Greater Springfield Farmers' Market
Battlefield Mall Parking Lot
Intersection of Battlefield Road and Glenstone Ave.
Springfield, Mo.